St. Casimir Catholic Parish

Lansing, Michigan

Stations of the Cross

Stations of the Cross


The Stations of the Cross are a 14-step Catholic devotion that commemorates Jesus Christ’s last day on Earth as a man. The 14 devotions, or stations, focus on specific events of His last day, beginning with His condemnation. The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ’s last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all 14 are complete.

The Stations of the Cross are commonly found in churches as a series of 14 small icons or images. They can also appear in church yards arranged along paths. The stations are most commonly prayed during Lent on Wednesdays and Fridays, and especially on Good Friday, the day of the year upon which the events actually occurred (

Anthony Fisher, Coordinator of Youth Ministry here at St. Casimir, shares this version of Stations of the Cross used by Pope Francis in 2016 (The Year of Mercy) and has been adapted for use during the COVID-19 shelter in place.

This PDF document could be printed out to keep in your prayer corner (it is 19 total pages so try to print two-sided if you like).


The Way of the Cross – God is Mercy